Thursday, May 09, 2013

St. Scholastica Wins, UM Morris Second in Mens' and Womens' Competition at UMAC Championships

For the ninth straight year, the St. Scholastica women's track & field team captured the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) Outdoor Championship on May 4.

The Saints won with 308 points. The host, University of Minnesota Morris, was second with 167 points. Martin Luther College was third with 40 points. Bethany Lutheran College was fourth with 32 points. Northwestern College was fifth with 27 points and North Central University was sixth with nine points.

The 4x100m relay of Katlin Krause (Motley, Minn./Pillager HS), Danielle Dickson (Roseville, Minn./Totino Grace HS/Roseville HS), Rachel Thelen (Park Rapids, Minn./Park Rapids HS) and Brianna Buske (Bloomer, Wis./Bloomer HS) won with a time of 50.94. Thelen edged Dickson in the 100m dash with a winning time at 12.80. Dickson did however win the long jump with a leap of 16'6.5” (5.04m). Krause won the pole vault with a program-record height of 10'8.25” (3.26m).

Bre Adams (Crystal, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong HS) won the 1,500m run with a time of 5:00.14. Amy Campbell (Cloquet, Minn./Cloquet HS) led a trio of Saints sweeping the top three spots in the 400m hurdles with a winning time of 1:08.86. Brea Durovec (Meadowlands, Minn./Floodwood HS) was second at 1:08.93 and Emily Schwantke(Hinckley, Minn./Hinckley-Finlayson HS) third at 1:12.93. Durovec was also second in the 100m hurdles at 16:18.

The 4x400m relay team of Maggie Kurtovich (Andover, Minn./Andover HS), Buske, Laurel Ohaju (Duluth, Minn./Duluth Central HS) and Caitlin Vaughan (Superior, Wis./Superior HS) posted a winning time of 4:13.05.

It was also a sweep of the top three spots in the 400m dash. Ohaju won with a time of 1:01.25. Buske was runner-up at 1:01.28 and Kurtovich third at 1:03.20. Ohaju also edged Buske in the 200m dash with a winning time of 26.55.

Liz Braml (Almena, Wis./Turtle Lake HS) won the 800m run, posting a time of 2:24.68. Alex Blair (Drake, Saskatchewan/Lanigan Central HS) was second at 2:26.47. Molly Burgstahler (Sandpoint, Idaho/Sandpoint HS) was runner-up in the 5,000m run with a time of 19:33.34.

Becky Huberty (Lena, Wis./Lena HS) won the shot put with a toss of 42'11” (13.08m). Brittany Ludwig (Alexandria, Minn./Jefferson HS) won the discus toss with a mark of 124'0” (37.79m). Rachael Hoium (Hermantown, Minn./Hermantown HS) took the triple jump title with a mark of 33'4” (10.16m).

The St. Scholastica men's track & field team also won the UMAC Outdoor Championship on May 4, winning 10 events.   

The Saints accumulated 285.5 points to win the title for the second consecutive year. University of Minnesota Morris, took second with 144 points. Martin Luther College was third with 82 points, Northwestern College fourth with 52 points and Bethany Lutheran College fifth with 41.5 points.

Justin Hanson (Atwater, Minn./Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City HS) took first place honors in the 110m hurdles with a program-record time of 15.15. He also won the 400m hurdles, posting a time of 55.70, just missing the program record. Hanson was runner-up in the 400m dash at 52.08. Samora Johnson (Milwaukee, Wis./Milwaukee Pius XI (UW-Whitewater)) won the 100m dash with a time of 11.15 and the 200m dash at 22.73.

The 4x400m relay team of Hanson, Johnson, Ryan Guentzel (Two Harbors, Minn./Two Harbors HS) and Charlie Habermann (Proctor, Minn./Proctor HS) won with a time of 3:29.53. The 4x100m relay of Jeff Ohaju (Duluth, Minn./Duluth Central HS), Corey Anderson (Duluth, Minn./Hermantown HS), Alex Horoshak (Two Harbors, Minn./Two Harbors HS) and Mike Naumann (Poplar, Wis./Northwestern HS) won with a time of 44.77.

Habermann won the 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 10:23.10. Calvin Mehrhof (Coon Rapids, Minn./Coon Rapids HS ) was second with a time of 10:43.52. Habermann led a trio of Saints that swept the top three spots in the 800m run. Habermann won with a time of 1:58.14. Luke McKenzie (Chisago City, Minn./Chisago Lakes HS) was second at 1:58.93 and Kelin Dunfee (St. Paul, Minn./St. Paul Central HS) third at 2:02.20. Chris Lawson (Minneapolis, Minn./St. Anthony Village) also was second in the 5,000m run with a time of 16:10.29.

Christopher Doran (Royalton, Minn./Andover HS) was the discus throw with a mark of 143'8” (43.78m). Justin Mann (Bigfork, Minn./Bigfork HS (Itasca Community College)) was second in the shot put with a toss of 43'3.25” (13.19m). Charlie Fernow (North Branch, Minn./North Branch HS) was runner-up in the hammer throw with a mark of 148'9” (45.34m). Jeremy Peterson (Hermantown, Minn./Hermantown HS) was in the top three of all three of those events.

Travis Ambuehl (Lake Linden, Mich./Lake Linden-Hubbell HS) and Luke Beckwith (Duluth, Minn./Proctor HS) were first and second, respectively, in the pole vault. Ambuehl won by clearing 13'6.25” (4.12m). Beckwith cleared 12'6.25” (3.82m).

Horoshak was second in the long jump with a leap of 20'10.5” (6.36m). Peter Drinkwine (Superior, Wis./Superior HS) was runner-up in the triple jump at 42'4.75” (12.92m). Anderson was second in the high jump, clearing 6'0.75” (1.85m).

The Minnesota Morris Cougars  finished second in both the men's and women's UMAC Championships. The men had four champions and the women five. 
Kaitlinn Kamm won the 100 hurdles(15.55) and in the high jump(1.55 meters). .Amanda Peters won the 5K in 19:20.49, and Rachel Wigenbach was third in 19:48.01.
The Cougars swept the top three places in the hammer throw. Kaylie Clark was first with a throw of 44.69m, Katia Vantries was second(44.43m) and Kat Nelson took third with a throw of 44.05m. Clark was also the javelin champion winning by almost 10 feet in 39.39m.
The women's 4x400m relay team of Kelsi KolleAlicia DoerrTeja Foy and Kamm took second with a time of 52.04. Laura Borkenhagen finished second in the 1500 in 5:05.27 and her teammate Halee Morris was third in 5:17.57.
Doerr was third in the 100 in 13.13. Zoe Bergstrom finished third in the 800(2:29.72). Anna Peterson was  third in the 200(27.75).
For the men, Chalmer Combellick was the champion in the 1500(4:01.91, a meet record) and the 5K(16:02.73). Zeke Miller was the UMAC champion in the shot put (13.36m), 
third in the 100(11.30),  and third in the discus( 40.24m). Ben Kettler won the hammer throw with a toss of 46.52m.
Nathan Harder(15.18) and Ryan DeRoeck(15.25) finished two, three in the 110m hurdles. DeRoeck also took second in the 400m hurdles(56.40) and third in the high jump(1.80m). Ian Karlsrud finished second in the javelin(46.70m). Erik Brady was third in the pole vault clearing the bar at 3.67m.  Full results are HERE.

No comments: