Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Minnesota Coaches Association Boys AA Cross Country Rankings

PRESEASON (released 8/22/2018)
1          Wayzata
2          Edina
3          Stillwater
4          Mounds View
5          Red Wing
6          Buffalo
7          Rosemount
8          Willmar
9          St Paul Central
10        Winona
11        Eden Prairie
12        Minnetonka
Other Teams receiving votes:
Hopkins, Roseville, Sartell, St. Michael-Albertville

1          Max Manley, Edina
2          Acer Iverson, Roseville
3          Luke Labatte, Rosemount
4          Nicholas Scheller, Chanhassen
5          Isaac Basten, Buffalo
6          Addison Stansbury, Stillwater
7          Austin Streit, Mounds View
8          Caleb Haugland, Minneapolis Washburn
9          Andrew Brandt, Wayzata
10        Torin Christianson, Chanhassen
11        Grant Price, Wayzata
12        Jake Derouin, Eden Prairie
Other Athletes receiving votes:
Charlie Babcock, Forrest Lake; Carter Knaus, St. Michael-Albertville

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

the Gopher Men’s and Women’s Track & Field and Cross Country programs will be combined under a single coaching and support staff

"As we looked at ways we could more effectively support our track & field and cross country programs ... we realized our current structure of having the two programs operate separately was outdated and inefficient," said Athletics Director Mark Coyle.

Matt Bingle, who has served as the director of women's track & field and cross country for the past eight years and has led the women's track & field program for the last 11, will oversee the combined program going forward. Steve Plasencia, who has been the director of men's track & field and cross country since 2008, will stay on staff to oversee men's cross country and distance runners for the track & field program.

Gopher Track & Field and Cross Country is preparing to move into a new era. The state-of-the-art University of Minnesota Track & Field Stadium is scheduled to open this coming fall. In addition, the University's Field House, which the Gophers use for indoor competition, will undergo a significant renovation in the coming year to modernize both the interior and exterior of the facility. The programs will begin their next chapter together as the women come off a season in which they swept the Big Ten Indoor and Outdoor Championships for the first time in program history

Sunday, August 19, 2018

2018 Preseason Girls AA Cross Country Rankings

1 Wayzata                                                                  
2 Edina                                   
3 St Michael Albertville                     
4 Forest Lake  
5 Minnetonka                                     
6 Willmar
7 Marshall      
8 Farmington                                                 
9 Eden Prairie                                    
10 Shakopee                                                                           
11 Lakeville South
12 Rosemount                                                                        
 Honorable Mention: Mpls Washburn, Andover, Visitation, White Bear Lake, East Ridge

1       Emily Covert, 12, Mpls Washburn                                           
2       Anna Fenske, 10, Farmington                                                   
3       Emma Atkinson, 11 ,Wayzata                                                  
4       Lauren Peterson, 12, Farmington                        
5       Grace Dickel, 12, Mpls Washburn
6       Caroline Sasson, 11, Wayzata    
7       Brianne Brewster, 7, Lakeville South
8       Ali Weimer, 9, St Michael Albertville        
9       Molly Moening, 9, St Paul Highland Park                                                
10     Heidi Schmitz, 12, Willmar
11     Liesl Paulsen 11, Eden Prairie High School
12     Sadie Schreiner, 11, Edina

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Hassan Mead Wins NACAC Men's 5K

 In a tactical race, OTC Elite's Hassan Mead ran the last 400 meters in 54 seconds to win the NACAC Senior 5K 

Monday, August 13, 2018


                               PRESEASON POLL

GIRLS’ TEAMS                          
1.       Perham                                      
2.       Cotter                               .          
3.        Luverne                                    
4.       Annandale                                
5.       Maple Lake                              
6.       Stewartville                         
7.       Belle Plaine                           
8.       Eden Valley-Watkins/Kimball         
9.       Lake City                                  
10      West Central Area                    
11.     Howard Lake-Waverly-W         
12.     Fairmont     

 1.      Tierney Wolfgram    Math&Science Acad
2.       Lauren Ping                             Cotter
3.        Grace Ping                                Cotter
4.       Morgan Gehl     Murray County Cent.
5.       Tenley Nelson                       Luverne
6.       Makenna Thurston Lake CyrstralWM/N
7.       Marissa Whitehead Martin County West
8.       Ava Hill                         Mesabi East      
9.        Kayla Christopherson   Austin Pacelli
10      Emma Fashant                  Annandale
11.     Natasha Sortland                  ZMKW
12.     Kailee Malone                Stewartville                          


1.       Geno Uhrbom  Greenway/NK
2.       Emmett Anderson      Staples-Motley
3.       Cooper Lennox                        Mora
4.       Jacob Bright           West Central Area
5.       Harris Anderson  Math&Science Acad
6.      Mitchell Johnstone    Mankato Loyola/C
7        Hunter Gowin           Breckenridge/W
8.       Luke Olson                                  Ely   
9.       Hugo Ruiz                  Tri City United
10.    Symon Keiser                          Jordan
11.     Zach Haire              Breckenridge/ W
12      Mike Kvaal                      LQPV/DB

1.       Perham                                    
2.       St. James Area                         
3.       Mankato Loyola/Cleveland      
4.       West Central Area                    
5.       Staples-Motley                         
6.       Lac Qui Parle Valley/DB       
7        Greenway/NK                          
8.       North Shore                                 
9.       Mora                                       
10.    Jordan                                      
11.     Plainview-Elgin-Millville         
12      Minnehaha Academy