Thursday, March 21, 2013

Yes/No: Will Run N Fun Dominate the Irish Run?

The race has a new name and a (slightly) different course, but The Sporting Life's St. Patrick's Day 8K race (most recently known as The Human Race) still kicks off the USATF Minnesota Team Circuit.  The popular and competitive race, now dubbed Irish Run Saint Paul, is in its 41st year.  It is still an out-and-back on Summit Avenue, but this year it will start at Ramsey Junior High instead of St. Thomas University.

Since this is the initial race of the 2013 Team Circuit, everyone has a fresh start.  The six different categories are:  Men's open, Men's masters (age 40 and above), Men's grand masters (age 50 and above), Women's open, Women's masters and Women's grand masters.  The open teams score five runners while the masters/grand masters each score three.

Let us know your predictions, and as the old Irish blessing states: may the road rise to meet you...

Yes/No: Will Run N Fun win at least four team races (out of the six categories) at the Irish Run Saint Paul?

Here are the winners in the team races in 2012.  The first one is the winner of this race (at the time it was called The Human Race), and the second is the overall winner at the end of the year:

Men's Open:  Run N Fun, Run N Fun
Men's Masters:  Run N Fun, Run N Fun
Men's Grand Masters:  TC Running Company, Run N Fun
Women's Open:  Foley & Mansfield, Run N Fun
Women's Masters:  Run N Fun, Run N Fun
Women's Grand Masters:  Northwoods - MN/WI, Northwoods - MN/WI

To summarize, Run N Fun won three categories at the Human Race but went on to finish first in five categories for the 2012 year.

All team circuit results can be found at the USATF Minnesota Results page.  For information on the Irish Run Saint Paul, visit The Sporting Life.

To play our game, simply type "yes" or "no" into the subject line of an e-mail and send it to us at DtBFantasy [AT] gmail [DOT] com before 1:20 P.M. CDT, Sunday, March 24th.  Please put your answers in the subject line of the e-mail and make sure your full name appears somewhere in the e-mail.  We will offer a bonus for participants making their 2013 debut in Yes/No - a correct answer will be worth two points for anyone who has not played yet this year.

My Answer:  No

Last week's contest was  a NCAA Indoor Pick Ten.  Three players tied for first place in a very tight contest:  Jim Glazer, Andrew Nussbaum and Rachel Karel.  The overall leader is Mike Henderson with  103 points followed by Jake Marotz at 100.

The Yes/No contest currently has three tied for the lead:  Dylan Dragswiek, Lori Anne Schwiesow, and Dimitri Drekonja.

For all the results, please visit DtB Fantasy Corner, HERE.

No comments: