Thursday, January 27, 2011

Yes/No: Team USA Minn. at the USA Half

Somehow, Yes/No is returning to Down the Backstretch for its third year in 2011!

You might think that since this is an otherwise respected running news site, we in the Fantasy Sports Department must possess incriminating photos of a certain DtB Publisher/Editor for shenanigans like Yes/No and Pick Ten (our other little game) to continue. We'll never tell.
But, we will try to find new and exciting ways to keep the competitions fun in this new year.

It might be cold in Minnesota but the Aramco Houston Half Marathon always seems to boast good running weather. This year the race will again crown the USA Half Marathon Champion for men and women. The course will also feature a preview of the race course for the 2012 Olympic Trials in the Marathon.

Team USA Minnesota runners were front and center in the 2010 edition of this race. Antonio Vega took the top prize, followed by then-teammate Patrick Smyth, with Josh Moen and Matt Gabrielson also finishing in the top 10. This year, the training group will be represented by Jason Lehmkuhle, Josh Moen, and seven-time National Champion Katie McGregor.

Hence, our question ...

Y/N: Will Jason Lehmkuhle AND Katie McGregor finish among the top 6 Americans in their respective races at the USA Half Marathon Championship on Saturday in Houston?

Katie McGregor was the 2010 USATF Women's Long Distance Runner of the Year, winning three USA titles on the roads and securing the USA Running Circuit title. She has run 1:12:01 for half marathon as well as 31:21 for 10,000 meters.

Jason Lehmkuhle has finished in the top five at the USA Half Marathon Champs three times (2005, 2007 and 2008). His half P.R. is 1:02:32. Lehmkuhle ran a tune-up 3000 at the U of M last week in 8:12.

The fast course is attracting a strong domestic field, as usual. Top contenders include Ryan Hall, Abdi Abdirahman and Mo Trafeh on the men's side and Serena Burla, Jen Rhines and Magdelena Lewy Boulet for the women.

To play our game, simply type "yes" or "no" into the subject line of an e-mail and send it to us at DtBFantasy [AT] gmail [DOT] com before 7:00 A.M. CST, Saturday, January 29th. Please put your answers in the subject line of the e-mail and make sure your full name appears somewhere in the e-mail.

My answer: Yes

The 2010 Yes/No results are posted at DtB Fantasy Corner. You can also find the 2009 results at that site as well. Yes/No generously awards no prizes to its winners, so high school and collegiate athletes and coaches can play without fear of running afoul of anti-wagering regulations.

For the new year, we will continue to tally results and list the overall leaders. We are looking at crowning victors in various categories as well. Details to follow as the year progresses...

For all the results, please visit DtB Fantasy Corner.

1 comment:

Doug said...

The answer was Yes.
Katie McGregor finished fourth and Jason Lehmkuhle was fifth.
Other Minnesotans included Jennifer Houck in 12th, Josh Moen in 13th and Chris Erichsen in 18th.