Tuesday, March 20, 2007

MIAC Honors Top Coach, Athletes, Scholars

In an effort to clear a few accumulated items from the DtB news desk, we're finally noting that the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has named its top coach and athletes from its indoor championships held March 1-3.

Bethel coach Jim Timp (pictured) was named Men's and Women's Coach of the Year. In just his second full year with both teams, his women's team finished a best-ever second place at the meet while the Bethel men were a strong fourth. Both teams were only ninth in the meet last year.

Bethel's Josh Otto joined his coach in receiving the MIAC's notice. He and Macalester's Kaela Schramm were named Track Athletes of the Meet. Otto won the 400 meters, finished second in the 600 yards, and was a member of Bethel's victorious 4 x 200m and 4 x 400m relay teams. Schramm won the 55m dash and 55m hurdles. Her 8.37 hurdle mark broke a 12-year-old MIAC record.

The top field eventers at the meet were Andy Klaers of Gustavus and Susan Brown of Macalester. Klaers won the 35-pound weight throw in 57-7 3/4 and was sixth in the shot put. Brown won the long jump in 17-6 3/4 and high jump in 5-5 and placed second in the triple jump.

Top performances in the meet -- yep, the MIAC gives out a lot of awards! -- went to pole vaulters Matt Schroeder of St. Thomas and Janna Castellano of Gustavus. Schroeder broke the 24-year-old meet record with his 16-3 1-4 leap. Castellano cleared 12-2 inches to win the women's vault and set a new MIAC record herself.

In addition: 17 teams and 19 individuals from the MIAC received All-Academic Cross Country honors from the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, the conference recently reported.

Photo courtesy of Bethel University.

No comments: